The Filipino Vegan

My thoughts on veganism

on June 7, 2012

I have been wanting to go vegetarian for health reasons, but what sold me to become a vegan is the ethics. I love animals and I feel compassion for them, also, I am deeply disturbed by what’s happening to our environment. Being born to a Filipino-Chinese family, our meals always had a little of everything, there’s a bit of meat, some fish, vegetables and grains of course. So upgrading to veganism is no trouble at all, even if I end up making everything myself just to make sure it’s vegan.

I have always felt guilty throwing away plastics, and have always tried making things out of them. but as many of us tend to do is forget about it when we get overwhelmed with the work and time involved. Ever since I became a mother, the passion for the environment came back to me. I kept thinking what kind of life I would leave for my child, of course I want clean food, clean water, clean environment and fresh air for my children, don’t you want that too? If going vegan helps then that’s what I will do, what we all ought to do. We came to a world that is clean and beautiful, why leave it dirty and destroyed? Do it for your children.


2 responses to “My thoughts on veganism

  1. Richgail Enriquez says:

    I’m glad to find out another vegan Filipino that’s enjoying the lifestyle. Please keep blogging!

Leave a comment